Pays-Bas 1986

The Netherlands were present at the Eurovision Song Contest 1986, held in Bergen, Norway, after opting out of the previous year’s contest in Gothenburg, Sweden.

The Dutch national final to select their entry, the Nationaal Songfestival ’86, was held on 1 April at the Theater De Flint in Amersfoort, and was hosted by the pianist and television host Pim Jacobs. Twelve regional juries across the Netherlands selected the winning song.

The winning entry was « Alles heeft een ritme, » performed by the teenage girl group Frizzle Sizzle. The entry was composed by Peter Schön and Rob Ten Bokum, and the lyrics were written by Schön.

National final

Draw Artist Song Informal translation Points Place
1 Michelle « Benjamin » Benjamin 68 7th
2 Jody Pijper « Sam » Sam 83 4th
3 Frizzle Sizzle « Alles heeft een ritme«  Everything has a rhythm 117 1st
4 Astrid Marz « De stilte na de storm » The silence after the storm 32 9th
5 DeeDee « Fata morgana » Fata morgana 96 2nd
6 Michelle « Alleen jouw lach » Only your smile 26 10th
7 Jody Pijper « Muziek » Music 79 6th
8 Frizzle Sizzle « Eenmaal jong » Once young 82 5th
9 Astrid Marz « Nooit meer » Never again 35 8th
10 DeeDee « Ik speel de clown » I play the clown 85 3rd

At Eurovision

Frizzle Sizzle performed seventh on the night of the contest, following Iceland and preceding Turkey. By the time the song got to Bergen, it was simply credited as « Alles heeft ritme, » changing the meaning slightly to « everything has rhythm, » from the former « everything has a rhythm. »

At the close of the voting the song had received 40 points, placing 13th in a field of 20 competing countries. This placing was identical to the previous time the Netherlands had competed in Eurovision, in 1984.

External links