Islande 1997

Iceland was represented by Paul Oscar, with the song « Minn hinsti dans« , at the 1997 Eurovision Song Contest final, which took place on 3 May in Dublin. For the third consecutive year Icelandic broadcaster RÚV chose their Eurovision entry by internal means and no Söngvakeppni Sjónvarpsins was held.

Although « Minn hinsti dans » did not do well at Eurovision, the risqué nature of Oscar’s stage presentation caused raised eyebrows across Europe and remains one of the contest’s most controversial and widely remembered performances.

At Eurovision

On the night of the final Oscar performed last in the running order, following eventual contest winners the United Kingdom. « Minn hinsti dans », a contemporary pulsing and hypnotic techno dance track, was the first song of its type heard at Eurovision. The presentation was the most daring and overtly sexual yet seen at Eurovision, with Oscar sitting on a white leather sofa, openly caressing himself and giving louche looks into the camera, while four depersonalised young women clad in latex fetish outfits danced provocatively and suggestively around him.

It is often said that this particular song and performance were several years ahead of their time for Eurovision, which in 1997 was just on the cusp of moving from the traditional jury era into the modern televoting era. It seemed too much for the national juries, as at the close of voting « Minn hinsti dans » had picked up only 18 points, placing Iceland 20th of the 25 entries. However, in 1997 televoting was trialled for the first time in Eurovision in five of the participating countries, and it was noted that 16 of the 18 points awarded to Iceland came from three of the televoting countries – Austria, Sweden and the United Kingdom – leading to the conclusion that the song could have done much better, had it taken part in a later year when televoting was in full swing.[1]


Points awarded to Iceland

Points awarded to Iceland
12 points 10 points 8 points 7 points 6 points
5 points 4 points 3 points 2 points 1 point

Points awarded by Iceland

12 points  Cyprus
10 points  France
8 points  United Kingdom
7 points  Turkey
6 points  Denmark
5 points  Hungary
4 points  Sweden
3 points  Slovenia
2 points  Estonia
1 point  Italy