Allemagne 2008

As a « Big 4 » member (the four biggest financial contributors of the contest), Germany qualifies directly for the final of the Eurovision Song Contest 2008 alongside last year’s winner Serbia and the three other « Big 4 » members. France, Spain and the United Kingdom.

Grand Prix Vorentscheid 2008

The German national final, « Grand Prix Vorentscheid 2008 », was held on March 6, 2008 at the Schauspielhaus in Hamburg and hosted by Thomas Hermanns. The five competing acts were musical star Carolin Fortenbacher, pop group Marquess, rock group Cinema Bizarre, pop star Tommy Reeve and pop group No Angels.

In the first round of voting viewers voted for Carolin Fortenbacher and No Angels.

In the second and final round of voting No Angels got 50.5% of the votes, so that they will represent Germany with their song « Disappear » at the Eurovision Song Contest 2008.

Peter Urban is the commentator for the event.[1]

Press conference

Draw Artist Song Vote Result
1 Marquess « La histeria » (The hysteria)
2 Tommy Reeve « Just one woman »
3 Cinema Bizarre « Forever or never »
4 Carolin Fortenbacher « Hinterm Ozean » (Behind the ocean) 49.5% 2
5 « No Angels«  Disappear 50.5% 1

At Eurovision

Germany performed in 4th position, behind Albania and before Armenia where they picked up 14 points.

Points awarded by Germany[2]

Points awarded to Germany (Final)
12 points 10 points 8 points 7 points 6 points
5 points 4 points 3 points 2 points 1 point

Commentators and spokespersons