Finlande 2008

Teräsbetoni performing « Missä miehet ratsastaa » at the first semi-final of the Eurovision Song Contest 2008.

Finland entered the Eurovision Song Contest 2008 after hosting the 2007 contest in Helsinki. To select their entry for the contest, Yleisradio Oy (Yle) held a national selection, Euroviisut 2008. The contest consisted of 12 artists competing over 3 semi-finals and one second chance round between January and February 2008, with 8 songs, 6 from the semi-finals and the 2 most popular songs from the second chance, competing in the final held on 1 March.

The winner was Teräsbetoni with the song « Missä miehet ratsastaa » (Where the men ride), composed by band member Jarkko Ahola. They received 38.9% of the televotes from the Finnish public, beating second place Kari Tapio and third place Cristal Snow.[1] Only the top 3 songs were announced.

Teräsbetoni went to Belgrade for Finland with the song, performing 16th in the first semi-final on 20 May. They received 79 points, placing 8th in a field and qualifying for the final on 24 May. At the final they performed 7th, however they could only manage to receive 35 points, coming 22nd of 25.

Euroviisut 2008 – Final

For the results of the semi-finals and second-chance round, see Euroviisut 2008.
Draw Artist Song Percentage Place
1 Movetron Cupido
2 Kristian Meurman Jos en sua saa
3 Cristal Snow Can’t Save Me 26.5% 3
4 Mikael Konttinen Milloin
5 Teräsbetoni Missä miehet ratsastaa 38.9% 1
6 Kari Tapio Valaise yö 33.9% 2
7 Crumbland Pleasure
8 Vuokko Hovatta Virginia

At Eurovision

At the first semi-final, Teräsbetoni performed 16th and placed 8th qualifying for the final on 24 May

In the final they performed 8th following Israel and preceding Croatia. They finished 22nd with 35 points.

Points Awarded by Finland[2]

Points Awarded to Finland (Semi-Final 1)
12 points 10 points 8 points 7 points 6 points
5 points 4 points 3 points 2 points 1 point
Points Awarded to Finland (Final)
12 points 10 points 8 points 7 points 6 points
5 points 4 points 3 points 2 points 1 point

Commentators and spokespersons

The commentators for the event were Jaana Pelkonen, Mikko Peltola and Asko Murtomäki in Finnish and Thomas Lundin in Swedish. the spokesperson announcing the votes was Mikko Leppilampi[3]


  1. ^ Klier, Marcus (2007-03-01). « Finland decided: Teräsbetoni to Eurovision! ». ESCToday. Retrieved 2008-10-06. 
  2. ^ Eurovision Song Contest 2008
  3. ^ Schacht, Andreas. « Mikko and Jaana are back! ». Retrieved 2008-05-07.