Denmark in the Eurovision Song Contest 2017

Eurovision Song Contest 2017
Country  Denmark
National selection
Selection process Melodi Grand Prix 2017
Selection date(s) 25 February 2017
Denmark in the Eurovision Song Contest
◄2016 2017

Denmark will participate in the Eurovision Song Contest 2017. The Danish broadcaster DR will organise the national final Melodi Grand Prix 2017 in order to select the Danish entry for the 2017 contest in Kiev, Ukraine.


Prior to the 2017 contest, Denmark had participated in the Eurovision Song Contest forty-five times since their first entry in 1957.[1] Denmark had won the contest, to this point, on three occasions: in 1963 with the song « Dansevise » performed by Grethe and Jørgen Ingmann, in 2000 with the song « Fly on the Wings of Love » performed by Olsen Brothers, and in 2013 with the song « Only Teardrops » performed by Emmelie de Forest. In the 2016 contest, « Soldiers of Love » performed by Lighthouse X failed to qualify Denmark to the final, making it the second consecutive year that Denmark missed out on qualification.

The Danish national broadcaster, DR, broadcasts the event within Denmark and organises the selection process for the nation’s entry. DR confirmed their intentions to participate at the 2017 Eurovision Song Contest on 6 June 2016.[2] Denmark has selected all of their Eurovision entries thus far through the national final Dansk Melodi Grand Prix.

Before Eurovision

Melodi Grand Prix 2017

Melodi Grand Prix 2017 will be the 47th edition of Dansk Melodi Grand Prix, the music competition that selects Denmark’s entries for the Eurovision Song Contest. The event will be held on 25 February 2017 at the Jyske Bank Boxen in Herning, hosted by Annette Heick and Johannes Nymark.[3]


Ten songs will in one show where the winner will be determined over two rounds of voting. In the first round, the top songs based on the combination of votes from a public vote and a five-member jury panel will qualify to the super-final. In the super-final, the winner will be determined as well by the combination of votes from the public and the jury panel. The jury panel will consist of five Danish Eurovision fans.[4]

Competing entries

DR opened a submission period between 6 June 2016 and 5 September 2016 for artists and composers to submit their entries.[5] The entertainment director for DR, Jan Lagermand Lundme, stated that the competition would seek out « good songs with a strong chorus, which have the potential to be a hit—and that can get us in the final of Eurovision. »[5] The competing entries were selected by a committee of industry professionals that was headed by music producer Cutfather.[5] The broadcaster received a record breaking 1,115 entries during the submission period; the previous record was set in 2016 when the broadcaster received 982 entries.[6] The competing artists and songs were announced in a press conference held by DR on 19 January 2017.[7]

Artist Song (English translation) Composer(s)
Anja Nissen « Where I Am » Anja Nissen, Angel Tupai, Michael D’Arcy
Anthony « Smoke In My Eyes » Kim Nowak-Zorde, Kasper Larsen, Hans Petersen, Ollie Marland, Phil Plested
Calling Mercury « Big Little Lies » Thomas Sardorf, Rune Braager, Martin Luke Brown
Ida Una « One » Peter Bjørnskov, Lene Dissing
Jeanette Bonde « Hurricane » Jeanette Bonde, Alexander Grandjean, Jeppe Pilgaard Ulrichsen, Nermin Harambasic
Johanna Beijbom « A.S.A.P. » Peter Wallevik, Daniel Heløy Davidsen, Patrick Devine, Dimitri Stassos, Freja Jonsson Blomberg, Christian Fast
René Machon « Warriors » Astrid Cordes, Alexander Grandjean, Hans Petersen, Lars Andersen
Rikke Skytte « Color My World » Mads Løkkegaard, Joël Pagiël MacDonald, Mohamed Alitou, Laura Kloos
Sada Vidoo « Northern Lights » Christoffer Lauridsen, Andreas Öhrn, Alessandra Günthardt
Thomas Ring « Vesterbro » Thomas Ring


The final will take place on 25 February 2017.

In addition to the performances of the competing entries, Danish Eurovision Song Contest 2000 winners Olsen Brothers will perform as the interval act.[8]

Final – 25 February 2017
Draw Artist Song Result
1 Ida Una « One »
2 Thomas Ring « Vesterbro »
3 Rikke Skytte « Color My World »
4 Anja Nissen « Where I Am »
5 Calling Mercury « Big Little Lies »
6 Anthony « Smoke In My Eyes »
7 René Machon « Warriors »
8 Sada Vidoo « Northern Lights »
9 Jeanette Bonde « Hurricane »
10 Johanna Beijbom « A.S.A.P. »

At Eurovision

The Eurovision Song Contest 2017 will take place at the International Exhibition Centre in Kiev, Ukraine and will consist of two semi-finals on 9 and 11 May and the final on 13 May 2017.[9] According to Eurovision rules, all nations with the exceptions of the host country and the « Big 5 » (France, Germany, Italy, Spain and the United Kingdom) are required to qualify from one of two semi-finals in order to compete for the final; the top ten countries from each semi-final progress to the final.


  1. ^ « Denmark Country Profile ». EBU. Retrieved 17 August 2014. 
  2. ^ Jiandani, Sanjay (6 June 2016). « Denmark: DR confirms participation in Eurovision 2017 ». ESCToday. Retrieved 6 June 2016. 
  3. ^ « Gentager vi vindersuccesen? Herning vært for Melodi Grand Prix 2017 » (in Danish). DR. 6 September 2016. Retrieved 6 September 2016. 
  4. ^ Grønbech, Jens (19 January 2016). « Drastisk ændring i Melodi Grand Prix: Finalen afgøres på helt ny måde ». (in Danish). DR. Retrieved 19 January 2016. 
  5. ^ a b c « DR efterlyser hits til Melodi Grand Prix 2017 » (in Danish). DR. 6 June 2016. Retrieved 29 June 2016. 
  6. ^ Ellegaard, Christian (9 September 2016). « Rekordmange vil være med i Melodi Grand Prix 2017 » (in Danish). DR. Retrieved 9 September 2016. 
  7. ^ Laufer, Gil (19 January 2017). « Denmark: DR reveals the ten Dansk Melodi Grand Prix 2017 hopefuls ». Retrieved 19 January 2017. 
  8. ^ Ellegaard, Christian (7 February 2017). « Brødrene Olsen gør comeback i Melodi Grand Prix ». (in Danish). DR. Retrieved 2 February 2017. 
  9. ^ Jordan, Paul (9 September 2016). « Kyiv to host Eurovision 2017! ». European Broadcasting Union. Retrieved 11 September 2016. 

External links