Ireland in the Eurovision Song Contest 2017

Eurovision Song Contest 2017
Country  Ireland
National selection
Selection process Internal Selection
Selection date(s) 16 December 2016
Selected entrant Brendan Murray
Ireland in the Eurovision Song Contest
◄2016 2017

Ireland will participate in the Eurovision Song Contest 2017 by Brendan Murray , who was internally selected in December 2016 by the Irish broadcaster Raidió Teilifís Éireann (RTÉ) to represent the nation at the 2017 contest in Kiev, Ukraine.


Prior to the 2016 Contest, Ireland had participated in the Eurovision Song Contest forty-nine times since its first entry in 1965.[1] Ireland has won the contest a record seven times in total. The country’s first win came in 1970, with then-18-year-old Dana winning with « All Kinds of Everything« . Ireland holds the record for being the only country to win the contest three times in a row (in 1992, 1993 and 1994), as well as having the only three-time winner (Johnny Logan, who won in 1980 as a singer, 1987 as a singer-songwriter, and again in 1992 as a songwriter). In 2011 and 2012, Jedward represented the nation for two consecutive years, managing to qualify to the final both times and achieve Ireland’s highest position in the contest since 2000, placing eighth in 2011 with the song « Lipstick« . However, in 2013, despite managing to qualify to the final, Ryan Dolan and his song « Only Love Survives » placed last in the final. The Irish entries in 2014, « Heartbeat » performed by Can-Linn featuring Kasey Smith, in 2015, « Playing with Numbers » performed by Molly Sterling and in 2016 « Sunlight performed by Nicky Byrne all failed to qualify to the final.

Before Eurovision

Internal Selection

On the 16th of December 2016 it was announced by Louis Walsh during his appearance in The Late Late Show that he was in charge of the 2017 Irish entry and he chose the former member of the boyband HomeTown, Brendan Murray to represent Ireland in Kiev.


  1. ^ « Ireland Country Profile ». EBU. Retrieved 9 November 2014.