Macedonia in the Eurovision Song Contest 2017

Eurovision Song Contest 2017
Country  Macedonia
National selection
Selection process Internal Selection
Selection date(s) Artist: 21 November 2016
Song: 10 March 2017
Selected entrant Jana Burčeska
Selected song « Dance Alone« 
Selected songwriter(s) Borislav Milanov
Alex Omar
Joacim Perrson
Florence A.
Macedonia in the Eurovision Song Contest
◄2016 2017

Macedonia[1] participated in the Eurovision Song Contest 2017 with the song « Dance Alone » performed by Jana Burčeska and written by Bobi-Leon Milanov, Alex Omar, Joacim Perrson and Florence A. The singer and song were internally selected by the Macedonian broadcaster Macedonian Radio Television (MRT) to compete for Macedonia at the 2017 contest in Kiev, Ukraine.

Macedonia was drawn to compete in the second semi-final of the Eurovision Song Contest which took place on 12 May 2016. Performing during the show in position 3, « Dance Alone » was not announced among the top 10 entries of the second semi-final and therefore did not qualify to compete in the final.


Prior to the 2016 contest, Macedonia had participated in the Eurovision Song Contest fifteen times since its first entry in 1998.[2] The nation’s best result in the contest to this point was twelfth, which it achieved in 2006 with the song « Ninanajna » performed by Elena Risteska. Following the introduction of semi-finals for the 2004, Macedonia had featured in only five finals. In 2016 Kaliopi failed to bring the country to the final with her song Dona, that marked the nations fourth failure in a row.

Before Eurovision

Internal selection

On 21 November 2016, MRT announced that they had internally selected Jana Burčeska to represent Macedonia in Kiev. On the 2nd of December it was announced that MRT began a public search for Jana’s entry. The said they hoped to send an entry that delivers a “quality and dignified representation” of the nation but also said they wanted a “modern and attractive” entry.

At Eurovision

According to Eurovision rules, all nations with the exceptions of the host country and the « Big 5 » (France, Germany, Italy, Spain and the United Kingdom) are required to qualify from one of two semi-finals in order to compete for the final; the top ten countries from each semi-final progress to the final. The European Broadcasting Union (EBU) split up the competing countries into six different pots based on voting patterns from previous contests, with countries with favourable voting histories put into the same pot.[3] On 31 January 2017, a special allocation draw was held which placed each country into one of the two semi-finals, as well as which half of the show they would perform in. Macedonia was placed into the second semi-final, held on 11 May 2017, and was scheduled to perform in the first half of the show.[4]


  1. ^ Participating member of EBU as former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia
  2. ^ « F.Y.R. Macedonia Country Profile ». EBU. Retrieved 11 August 2014. 
  3. ^ Jordan, Paul (25 January 2017). « Semi-Final Allocation draw to take place in Kyiv ». Retrieved 25 January 2017. 
  4. ^ Jordan, Paul (31 January 2017). « Results of the Semi-Final Allocation Draw ». European Broadcasting Union. Retrieved 31 January 2017.