Malta in the Eurovision Song Contest 2017

Eurovision Song Contest 2017
Country  Malta
National selection
Selection process Malta Eurovision Song Contest 2017
Selection date(s) 18 February 2017
Selected entrant Claudia Faniello
Selected song « Breathlessly« 
Selected songwriter(s) Philip Vella
Sean Vella
Gerard James Borg
Malta in the Eurovision Song Contest
◄2016 2017

Malta will participate in the Eurovision Song Contest 2017. The Maltese broadcaster Public Broadcasting Services (PBS) will organise the national final Malta Eurovision Song Contest 2017: in order to select the Maltese entry for the 2017 contest in Kiev, Ukraine.


Prior to the 2016 Contest, Malta had participated in the Eurovision Song Contest twenty-nine times since its first entry in 1971.[1] Malta briefly competed in the Eurovision Song Contest in the 1970s before withdrawing for sixteen years. The country had, to this point, competed in every contest since returning in 1991. Malta’s best placing in the contest thus far was second, which it achieved on two occasions: in 2002 with the song « 7th Wonder » performed by Ira Losco and in 2005 with the song « Angel » performed by Chiara. In 2015, Malta failed to qualify to the final with the song « Warrior » performed by Amber. In 2016, Malta placed 3rd place in the 1st Semi-Final and in final finished 11th (ties with Netherlands) with 153 points with the song « Walk On Water » performed by Ira Losco.

Before Eurovision announced the 60 songs selected among 156 songs which applied to participate in the Malta Eurovision Song Contest 2017. PBS, which organizes the festival, said that now another adjudication would be made of the songs in the preliminary list for the 16 finalist songs for the Malta Eurovision Song Contest 2017, to be held next February.


Actor Daniel Azzopardi, star of popular series Strada Stretta, hosted the event accompanied by Charlene Mercieca, a businesswoman-turned-television personality who’s recently had a publicised battle with cancer.

Malta Eurovision Song Contest 2017

16 songs were chosen to compete in the 2017 contest, which will be held on February 18. [2] For the first time the decision will be taken by the public through televoting. Carefully explaining the televoting system, John Bundy, the new Head of Maltese Delegation, said that every fixed or mobile line may be used to cast just one vote. This meant that if more than one call is made from a line, all the calls will be charged but the vote will not be valid.

Draw Artist Song Songwriter(s) Televote Place
1 Klinsmann Coleiro « Laserlight » Dreher Emanuel, Stefan Moessle, Mathias Strasser 332 10
2 Raquela Dalli Gonzi « Ray of Light » Boris Cezek, Dean Muscat 551 8
3 Deborah C & Josef « Tonight » Jonas Gladnikoff, Primož Poglajen, Michael James Down, Sara Ljunggren, Angie Laus 572 7
4 Kevin Borg « Follow » Kevin Borg, Simon Gribbe 2,502 3
5 Jade Vella « Seconds Away » Kevin Borg, Simon Gribbe 166 14
6 Crosswalk « So Simple » Boris Cezek, Dean Muscat 245 12
7 Franklin Calleja « Follow Me » Ivan Grech, Cyprian Cassar, Muxu 1,303 5
8 Rhiannon « Fearless » Cyprian Cassar, Rhiannon Micallef 288 11
9 Miriana Conte « Don’t Look Down » Cyprian Cassar, Muxu 156 16
10 Shauna Vassallo « Crazy Games » Cyprian Cassar, Muxu 159 15
11 Janice Mangion « Kewkba » (Star) Mark Scicluna, Emil Calleja Bayliss 4,544 2
12 Cherton Caruana « Fighting to Survive » Boris Cezek, Dean Muscat 340 9
13 Maxine Pace « Bombshell » Noel Cohen, Michael Macallister, Julie Hardy, Erin Bowman 627 6
14 Richard Edwards « You » Richard Micallef 186 13
15 Brooke Borg « Unstoppable » Christian Schneider, Aidan O’Connor, Sara Biglert, Brooke Borg 2,000 4
16 Claudia Faniello « Breathlessly » Philip Vella, Sean Vella, Gerard James Borg 4,996 1

See also