Moldova in the Eurovision Song Contest 2017

Eurovision Song Contest 2017
Country  Moldova
National selection
Selection process O melodie pentru Europa 2017
Selection date(s) Semi-final:
24 February 2017
25 February 2017
Moldova in the Eurovision Song Contest
◄2016 2017

Moldova will participate in the Eurovision Song Contest 2017. The artist and song that will represent Moldova in the 2017 contest will be selected through the national final, O melodie pentru Europa 2017, organised by the Moldovan broadcaster TeleRadio-Moldova (TRM), on 25 February 2017.


Prior to the 2017 Contest, Moldova had participated in the Eurovision Song Contest twelve times since its first entry in 2005.[1] The nation’s best placing in the contest was sixth, which it achieved in 2005 with the song « Boonika bate toba » performed by Zdob și Zdub. Other than their debut entry, to this point, Moldova’s only other top ten placing at the contest was achieved in 2007 where « Fight » performed by Natalia Barbu placed tenth. In the 2016 contest, « Falling Stars » performed by Lidia Isac failed to qualify Moldova to compete in the final.

For the 2017 Contest, the Moldovan national broadcaster, TeleRadio-Moldova (TRM), will broadcast the event within Moldova and organise the selection process for the nation’s entry. TRM confirmed their intentions to participate at the 2017 Eurovision Song Contest on 25 October 2016.[2] Moldova has selected their entry via a national selection show since 2008, a procedure that was continued for their 2017 participation.[3]

Before Eurovision

O melodie pentru Europa 2017

O melodie pentru Europa 2017 was the national final format developed by TRM in order to select Moldova’s entry for the Eurovision Song Contest 2017. Unlike in previous years, the event only included one semi-final and a final to be held on 24 and 25 February 2017, respectively.[3]


The selection of the competing entries for the national final and ultimately the Moldovan Eurovision entry will take place over two rounds. On 21 January 2017, all artists who submitted a song to the broadcaster were invited to take part in a live audition, where the fourteen semi-finalists were decided. The fourteen semi-finalists will take part in a live semi-final on 24 February, where eight singers will progress to the live final on 25 February. The winner will by decided by voting from the Moldovan public and a jury of music professionals.[3]

Competing entries

Interested artists and composers had until 18 January 2017 to submit their entries to the Moldovan broadcaster.[3] At the conclusion of the submissions period, the broadcaster had received 40 entries, all of which were invited to the live auditions.[4] One artist withdrew from the competition prior to the auditions, and another did not show up, leaving 38 candidates.[5] The fourteen semi-finalists were revealed on 21 January, following the live audition. Constantin Cobîlean and his song « Mama » were disqualified after it was discovered that a Russian language version of the song had been performed on the Russian television series Glavnaya Stsena in 2015. He was replaced by Nadia Moșneagu and the song « Never Give Up on Us ».[6][7] On 24th January, Irina Kit decided to withdraw from the selection after it was revealed that heir chorus had similarities to the Akon song Bananza; She was replaced by Samir Loghin and the song « Glow ».[8]

Artist Song (English Translation) Composer(s)
Aurel Chirtoacă « Dor de mamă » (Missing mother) Aurel Chirtoacă
Big Flash Sound « Logic » Big Flash Sound – Eugenia Golomidova, Eugen Valeev
Boris Covali « Călător » (Traveller) Șerban Cazan, Theea Miculescu
Constantin Cobîlean « Mama » Artur Petrosyan, Iurie Carp
Diana Brescan « Breath » Andrei Tostogan, Liuba Perciun
Valentina Nejel & Sergiu Pungă « Ne-a fost iubirea un joc » (It was a love game)
Emilia Russu « If Only You » Samuel Bugia Garrido, Athanasios Nakos
Ethno Republic & Surorile Osoianu « Discover Moldova » Marcel Stefaneț, Nelu Laiu
Irina Kit « Baby, Don’t Cry » Irina Kitoroagă, Hans Olof Furberg, DJ Kirumba
Marks & Stefanet « Join Us in the Rain » Ralph Siegel
Nadia Moșneagu « Never Give Up on Us » Johan Lundin, Vanessa Nordmark
Samir Loghin « Glow » Samir Loghin, Danil Murzac, Kälin Bogdan
Sandy C « A Beautiful World » Christian Alares, Malin Johansson, Christopher Wortley
SunStroke Project « Hey Mamma » SunStroke Project, Alina Galetskaya
THE ONE « Dance » Iurie Sceankin, Igor Cristov, Pavel Malișev
Valeria Pașa « Freedom » Eugen Doibani
Vozniuc feat. Vio Grecu « Don’t Lie » Dan Vozniuc, Rodica Olișevschi


Semi-final – 24 February 2017
Draw Artist Song Jury Televote Total Place
1 Vozniuc feat. Vio Grecu « Don’t Lie »
2 Emilia Russu “If Only You”
3 Sandy C « A Beautiful World »
4 Valeria Pașa « Freedom »
5 Valentina Nejel & Sergiu Pungă « Ne-a fost iubirea un joc »
6 Ethno Republic & Surorile Osoianu « Discover Moldova »
7 Marks & Stefanet « Join Us in the Rain »
8 Aurel Chirtoacă « Dor de mamă »
9 Big Flash Sound « Logic »
10 SunStroke Project « Hey Mamma »
11 Diana Brescan « Breath »
12 Nadia Moșneagu « Never Give Up on Us »
13 Samir Loghin « Glow »
14 THE ONE « Dance »


  1. ^ « Moldova Country Profile ». EBU. Retrieved 5 November 2014. 
  2. ^ Granger, Anthony (25 October 2016). « Moldova: NTU director general confirms Eurovision 2017 participation ». Retrieved 21 January 2017. 
  3. ^ a b c d Granger, Anthony (12 December 2016). « Moldova: Eurovision 2017 national final on 25 February ». Retrieved 21 January 2017. 
  4. ^ Granger, Anthony (18 January 2017). « MOLDOVA: 40 SONGS SUBMITTED FOR O MELODIE PENTRU EUROPA 2017 ». Retrieved 21 January 2017. 
  5. ^ Honciuc, Bogdan (21 January 2017). « MOLDOVA: 14 ACTS ADVANCE TO SEMI-FINAL AFTER LIVE AUDITIONS ». Wiwibloggs. 
  7. ^ Gallagher, Robyn (23 January 2017). « MAMA MIA! MOLDOVAN SEMI-FINAL ENTRY « MAMA » PERFORMED ON RUSSIAN X FACTOR IN 2015″. Wiwibloggs. 
  8. ^ Granger, Anthony (25 January 2017). « MOLDOVA: IRINA KIT WITHDRAWS FROM O MELODIE PENTRU EUROPA ». Eurovoix. 

External links