Serbia in the Eurovision Song Contest 2017

Eurovision Song Contest 2017
Country  Serbia
National selection
Selection process Internal Selection
Selection date(s) Artist: 27 February 2017
Song: March 2017
Selected entrant Tijana Bogićević
Selected songwriter(s)
Serbia in the Eurovision Song Contest
◄2016 2017

Serbia will participate in the Eurovision Song Contest 2017 which will be held in Kiev, Ukraine.


Prior to the 2017 Contest, Serbia had participated in the Eurovision Song Contest nine times since its first entry in 2007, winning the contest with their debut entry « Molitva » performed by Marija Šerifović.[1] Since 2007, seven out of nine of Serbia’s entries have featured in the final with the nation failing to qualify in 2009 and 2013. After returning to the Eurovision Song Contest following their one-year withdrawal in 2014, Serbia’s 2015 entry « Beauty Never Lies » performed by Bojana Stamenov qualified to the final and placed tenth. Serbia also qualified to the final and in 2016 when Sanja Vučić performed « Goodbye (Shelter) » and placed 18th.

The Serbian national broadcaster, Radio Television of Serbia (RTS), broadcasts the event within Serbia and organises the selection process for the nation’s entry. RTS confirmed their intentions to participate at the 2017 Eurovision Song Contest on 5 October 2016.[2] Between 2007 and 2009, Serbia used the Beovizija national final in order to select their entry. However, after their 2009 entry, « Cipela » performed by Marko Kon and Milaan, failed to qualify Serbia to the final, the broadcaster shifted their selection strategy to selecting specific composers to create songs for artists. In 2010, RTS selected Goran Bregović to compose songs for a national final featuring three artists, while in 2011 Kornelije Kovač, Aleksandra Kovač and Kristina Kovač were tasked with composing one song each. In 2012, the internal selection of Željko Joksimović and the song « Nije ljubav stvar » secured the country’s second highest placing in the contest to this point, placing third. In 2013, RTS returned to an open national final format and organized the Beosong competition. The winning entry, « Ljubav je svuda » performed by Moje 3, failed to qualify Serbia to the final at the 2013 Eurovision Song Contest. In 2015, RTS selected Vladimir Graić, the composer of Serbia’s 2007 Eurovision Song Contest winning entry « Molitva », to compose songs for a national final featuring three artists.[3]

Before Eurovision

Internal selection

RTS announced on 31 January 2017 that the artist and the song will be selected using the internal selection, and the Serbian representative will be presented in a special program to be aired in March.[4]

At Eurovision

According to Eurovision rules, all nations with the exceptions of the host country and the « Big 5 » (France, Germany, Italy, Spain and the United Kingdom) are required to qualify from one of two semi-finals in order to compete for the final; the top ten countries from each semi-final progress to the final. The European Broadcasting Union (EBU) split up the competing countries into six different pots based on voting patterns from previous contests, with countries with favourable voting histories put into the same pot.[5] On 31 January 2017, a special allocation draw was held which placed each country into one of the two semi-finals, as well as which half of the show they would perform in. Serbia was placed into the second semi-final, to be held on 11 May 2017, and was scheduled to perform in the first half of the show.[6]


  1. ^ « Serbia Country Profile ». EBU. Retrieved 3 October 2014. 
  2. ^ Halliwell, Jamie (5 October 2016). « Serbia: Confirmation of their Eurovision 2017 participation ». Retrieved 31 January 2017. 
  3. ^ Србија поново на „Песми Евровизије“. RTS (in Serbian). 26 September 2014. Retrieved 3 October 2014. 
  4. ^ « Izbor za „Pesmu Evrovizije » 2017. godine ». RTS. Radio Television of Serbia. Retrieved 31 January 2017. 
  5. ^ Jordan, Paul (25 January 2017). « Semi-Final Allocation draw to take place in Kyiv ». Retrieved 25 January 2017. 
  6. ^ Jordan, Paul (31 January 2017). « Results of the Semi-Final Allocation Draw ». European Broadcasting Union. Retrieved 31 January 2017. 

External links